Most Popular

Montgomery QB Club cancels for 2020

Many former winners from the area

Special to Elmore Autauga News

The Montgomery Quarterback Club has announced cancellation of its 2020 season. The Board of Directors took this action after reviewing a number of factors: the inability to hold the Club’s annual May fundraiser, the possible reduction in corporate sponsorships due to the status of the economy, the difficulty already encountered in getting speakers to schedule for the fall, the uncertainty around the fall football season, and the concerns of members regarding social distancing at Club meetings.

The Quarterback Club has been meeting during the fall since 1941. Its main mission is to support high school football in the River Region. The Club is exploring ways to continue its Players of the Week Awards this fall while not holding regular meetings.

Board members are hopeful that the Club can reorganize in early 2021 and come back stronger than ever for the 2021 season.

In 2020, three players were named Player of the Week from schools in Elmore-Autauga counties. Alex Johnson of Edgewood Academy was named Private School Player of the Week on September 27. Two players were named Public School Player of the Week from the area. On August 30 Tyquan Rawls from Wetumpka was named and October 4 Tray Duncan from Stanhope Elmore High School was also honored. Rawls was also named the Public School Player of the Year for 2019.

Other Public School Players of the Year from the area:

2001  Derron Tagger   Prattville High School

2003  Travis McCall   Prattville High School

2004  Bobby Greenwood  Prattville High School

2006  Larry Smith   Prattville High School

2007  Casey Weston  Prattville High School

2008  Adam Davenport   Elmore County High School

2010 – Jamal Golden – Wetumpka High School

2011 – Justin Thomas – Prattville High School

2013 – Charlie Crenshaw – Wetumpka High School

Private School Players of the Year from the area:

1999  Rick Taylor   New Life Christian Academy

2002  Scott NesSmith  Edgewood Academy

2008  Chris Tice   Edgewood Academy

2012 – Dylan Ingram – Edgewood Academy

2013 – Charlie Crenshaw – Wetumpka High School

2015 – Nathan Rourke from Edgewood Academy