Most Popular

Elmore County RSVP Volunteer Program Recognition Luncheon Held Sept. 26 at Millbrook Civic Center




On Thursday, Sept. 26, the Millbrook Civic Center was filled with the sounds of good music, smells of great food and a lot of recognition for the RSVP award recipients for their volunteerism in Elmore County. RSVP stands for Retired and Senior Volunteer Program.

MACOA sponsors RSVP for Autauga, Coosa, Elmore, Montgomery, and Tallapoosa counties.

RSVP offers volunteer opportunities for seniors to lead meaningful lives by making worthwhile contributions to non-profit and health-related groups, organizations, and agencies in their community including schools, libraries, hospitals, and government offices.

The volunteers are carefully matched to meaningful service based on their experience, talents, and personal desires. The result is seniors helping themselves by helping in their community.

Carrie Ruth Robertson, at right, was honored for 20 years of service with RSVP.

2019 Awards Recipients recognized included:

20 Years of Service – Janet Lewis, Carrie Ruth Robertson and Mazell Townsend.

15 Years of Service – Gloria Lindsey.

10 Years of Service – Bonnie Bonner, Millicent Buckelew, Wanda Burt, Carolyn Henderson, Linda Ingram, Frances Martin, Nancye Russell, Ray Russell, Sonny Solomon and Illiani Yates.

After the Pledge of Allegiance, Veterans were recognized. The American Legion Post 133 in Millbrook presented flag pins to veterans at the Luncheon. The committee presented the American Legion Post 133 with A beautiful wood display signed by Lee Greenwood. It will be hung in the Canteen at the American Legion Post 133. Millbrook Mayor Al Kelley welcomed everyone and thanked the RSVP organization for what it does for Elmore County and the communities in our area.

Shane Butler, Chief Meteorologist with WAKA, presented a weather safety program for seniors.

RSVP offered special thanks to the following:

Montgomery Area Council on Aging, David Rose Photography, Millbrook Civic Center Staff, Elmore County Advisory Council, RSVP Volunteers and Station Managers, White Wings Catering, The Upbeats Band and all who donated door prizes for the event.

RSVP Coordinators are: Shirley Stewart – Autauga and Elmore County; Shelia Hardy – Coosa County, Carroll Penton – Montgomery County, Lisa Moncrief – Tallapoosa County and Jennifer Dvorak – RSVP Director, MACOA/RSVP.

The Elmore RSVP Advisory Council includes: Lee Cash, Jane Cone, Ruth Duncan, Shotsie Jones, Janet Lewis, Bill Lyde, Jr., Judy May, Sid Rodgers, Ronnie White and Ruth Williams.

For more information about volunteering with RSVP, contact (334) 265-9204. For information about the Elmore RSVP program, visit