Most Popular

Prattville Candidates Qualify for Municipal Races; Two Council Positions are Unopposed for Aug. 25, 2020 Election



A total of 15 candidates have qualified to run for Prattville Municipal positions including Mayor and City Council. The election will be held Aug. 25, 2020. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

For Mayor:

Candidates are Dean Argo, William (Bill) Gillespie.

City Council, District 1:

Candidates are Wayne Mackey, Deven Peek and Albert Striplin.

City Council, District 2:

 No election as Marcus Jackson is unopposed.

City Council, District 3 –

Candidates are John Chambers and Irene B. Kohn.

City Council, District 4:

No election as Jerry Starnes is unopposed.

City Council District 5:

Candidates are Bryant “Bo” Evans and Blair Gornto.

City Council, District 6:

Candidates are Mark Rhodes and Robert E. Strichik.

City Council, District 7:

Candidates are Lora Lee Boone and Paul Young.

If you are a candidate running for office in Prattville and have not yet submitted your FREE announcement for the Elmore/Autauga News, please send it to with a suitable photo. All information about an individual political candidate thereafter is considered pre-paid political advertising. If you would like to advertise, contact Carla Wilson at 334.285.1299.

We will not cover any political function that does not invite all candidates for that political race.